Board of Trustees

Our Board of Trustees is a group of global experts, with a broad perspective on research, innovation, 21st-century skills, and the social development of our continent.

Carlos Vallejos Sologuren, M.D.

Board Member
Carlos is a surgeon and oncologist. He completed an Oncology fellowship at MD Anderson and is the founder of Oncosalud and the Peruvian Society of Medical Oncology. He was also the General Director of the National Institute of Neoplastic Diseases (INEN) and Minister of Health of Peru.

Luis Arturo Penagos Londoño

Board Member
Luis Arturo is an Accountant and Business Administrator. For many years, he was the Vice President of Human Management, Audit, and Administration at Bancolombia and today he is the Dean and Professor of Administration and Accounting at Universidad EAFIT and Universidad de Medellin.

Jonathan Novoa-Cain, M.D.

Board Member
Jonathan is a surgeon and holds a Master’s in International Public Health. He has been a consultant at Price Waterhouse Coopers (PWC) and Doctors Without Borders, and was Chairman of the Board at Malteser. He is currently a partner at Occupational Health Horizons and a National Consultant at PAHO.

Catalina López-Correa, M.D

Board Member
Catalina is a physician, Master’s in Human Genetics, PhD in Biomedical Sciences from the University of Leuven. She is currently the Chief Scientific Officer (CSO) of Genome Canada. She is also the founder and president of the Organization for the Development of New Solidarities.

Leonor Hidalgo

Board Member
Leonor is a lawyer with a Master’s degree in Political Studies. She is the R&D Manager at Ruta N, and previously was the General Director of Science, Technology, and Innovation at Colciencias. She also worked in the Department of Technological Management at the Ministry of Defense of Colombia.